Projects

suki1.jpg

« dirty Treachery and Notes Linux Beta 2 | Main| Be a Geek and a pervert while keeping fit »

At last an admin we can all hate

Category Rant Rant Hate Hate
As a half admin/half dev i always like to take the other persons point of view (which is even a good view for life), but this bloke takes the biscuit and in fact has made my and a number of other peoples life hell, this gentle man is the head of the http://www.five-ten-sg.com, and his view of spam is draconian by even the most deranged point of view, if he catches a spammer on a ISP network, he blacklists all IP address on that network, ALL IP'S!!!, WTF!!,
It turns out that someone who is hosted by fasthosts.com, has performed a "misc" offence against his spamming rules, and now all my domains have been black listed because i have the affrontory to share the same hosting provider as them, to add to this you cant request your ip address to be removed like other blacklists (there is rumours that you can with cash but i don't have anything other than forum notes to substantiate this), and there are no contact details on the site (have to get them from whois), thankfully not many Spam agencies use his company, but enough for me to get complaints,

I thought i must be going daft but a quick goggling shows that i am by no means alone, so if you are an admin, please stop using this loonies black list (quite a lot of the black list monitors don't even list his sites as they are classed and "unreliable and unreasonable", but as a crowning example i give this in which he has used his position as a black list controller to black list the whole ip range of a magazine company (all associated and innocent companies included {some 127 publications}) who have phoned him up twice in 6 months to sell him their magazine.

There are levels in the fight against Spam, people, you don't nuke a town to get one killer, you don't ban an ISP to get one spammer.

Comments

Gravatar Image1 - { Link } gives an address you can email if you are blocked as long as you are not on spamhaus's XBL. I didn't enter an email to test to see what it said in the results.

I was going to say he looks far better than Blars (blars.org), but he seems to be gone and the domain for sale. He used to state you had to hire him to investigate removing you from his list. Google him if you want more info.

Your other choice is to contact the recipient and tell them to stop using crappy dnsbls for their filtering. Even Spamcop is too agressive for my preference and I run the filtering to 84 school districts. Zen.spamhaus.org is pretty good, and generally easy to get delisted from.

Gravatar Image2 - Nobody in their right mind is using five-ten-sg for blocking, it is one of the most aggressive lists out there. Not even the most aggressive anti-spammer in nanae (the usenet group news.admin.net-abuse.email) is using that list.
zen.spamhaus.org is very good, and you may then want to use spamcop and perhaps uceprotect.net and backscatterer.org (yes, spelling is correct!) for weighting, but not outright blocking.
It is interesting that people (admins) sometimes use blocklists without checking how agressive they are or what the listing policy is...
I would recommend visiting news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting, a moderated group with much lower S/N than nanae to learn more about different blocklists.

Gravatar Image3 - Thanks for the feedback, no im not on any other spam list (ive been a good boy), Doh!! Emoticon , on the "remove from" email address thanks for spoting it!!

Post A Comment

:-D:-o:-p:-x:-(:-):-\:angry::cool::cry::emb::grin::huh::laugh::lips::rolleyes:;-)

Feeble Money Grubbing Ads